Elections 2014: European election candidates for the Eastern region

Election news and coverage from the Peterborough Telegraph: peterboroughtoday.co.uk/news, @peterboroughtel on Twitter, facebook.com/peterboroughtoday
Election news and coverage from the Peterborough Telegraph: peterboroughtoday.co.uk/news, @peterboroughtel on Twitter, facebook.com/peterboroughtoday
Have your say

People in Peterborough will also be able to vote for a member of the European Parliament for the East of England on Thursday, 22 May.

The constituency selects seven Members of European Parliament (MEP) and the full list of candidates is published below.

The current MEPs for the region are Geoffrey Van Orden (Con), David Campbell Bannerman (Con), Robert Sturdy (Con), Andrew Duff (lib Dem), Richard Howitt (Lab), Vicky Ford (Con) and Stuart Agnew (UKIP).

MEPs are elected representatives in the European Union. Their job is to represent the interests of their region in Europe.

The MEPs sit on the European Parliament which meets in Strasbourg for a four-day plenary session, six times a year it meets for two days each in Brussels.

They have an important role to play on issues such as climate change, the amount of hours that people should work, mobile phone costs in European countries, human rights in the world and the way in which financial markets are regulated.

They have the power to amend, approve or reject EU legislation and hold the European Commission to account.

Residents planning to vote by post in the European elections, as well as the city council and parish council, are being advised that the first batch of ballot papers have been sent out by Peterborough City Council.

Postal votes should be returned immediately and must be returned by 10pm on election day (Thursday 22 May 2014). If they are returned later than this they will not be counted.

You can hand it into the Town Hall reception, Bridge Street, Peterborough up until 5pm on polling day and you can post it through the Town Hall letterbox up to 10pm on Thursday 22 May 2014.

You could also take it to your polling station on polling day. If none of these options are possible give it to someone you know and trust to post it for you.

If your postal votes have not arrived in the post by the morning of May 16 call (01733) 452249.

Parties and candidates standing in the forthcoming European elections:

An Independence from Europe:

Paul Kevin Wiffen, Karl Berrisford Davies, Raymond Charles Mitchell Spalding, Edmond Max Rosenthal, Rupert Smith, Dennis James Wiffen, Betty Patricia Wiffen.

British National Party:

Richard Andrew Perry, Christopher Eric Linvingstone, Mark James Burmby, Paul Stephen Hooks, Stephen Leonard Smith, Philip David Howell, Michael Edward Braun.

Christian Peoples Alliance:

Carl Shaun Clark, Mark Anthony Clamp, Chris Olley, Stephen John Todd, Jane Elizabeth Clamp, Kirsty Evans, Kevin John Austin.

Conservative Party:

Vicky Ford, Geoffrey Charles Van Orden, David Campbell Bannerman, John Christopher Flack, Tom Hunt, Margaret Rowena Simons, Jonathan Mark Thomas Collett.

English Democrats:

Robin Tilbrook, Charles Vickers, Stephen Goldspink, Maria Situmbeko, Bridget Cowan, Don Whitbread, Jeremy Moss.

Green Party:

Rupert Read, Mark Ereira, Jill Mills, Ash Haynes, Marc Scheimann, Robert Lindsay, Fiona Jane Radic.

Labour Party:

Richard Stuart Howitt, Alex Mayer, Sandy Martin, Bhavna Joshi, Paul Anthony Bishop, Jane Patricia Basham, Chris Ostrowski.

Liberal Democrats:

Andrew Nicholas Duff, Josephine Mary Hayes, Belinda Brooks-Gordon, Stephen John Robinson, Michael Andrew Green, Linda Jack, Hugh Martin James.


Brian Denny, Eleanor Mary Donne, Stephen William Glennon, David John Goode, Leonardo Impett, Teresa Mary MacKay, Emily Thomson-Golding.

UK Independence Party:

Patrick James O’Flynn, Stuart Agnew, Tim Mark Aker, Michael Heaver, Mick McGough, Andy Monk, Mark James Hughes.


Related: All Peterborough local election candidates across 21 seats in 19 wards up for election on Thursday, 22 May have their say

More coverage and information on our Elections page