Countdown to election begins as Peterborough gets set to choose MPs

Parish council election news.
Parish council election news.
Have your say

The countdown to the 2015 general election is underway with parliament now dissolved.

All people who are 18 and above in Peterborough and the surrounding areas will soon have the chance to elect the person they wish to represent them nationally with voters going to the ballot box on Thursday, May 7.

With the polls suggesting an incredibly tight contest between the Conservatives and Labour to be the majority party in parliament, every vote could be crucial to decide the make-up of the next government.

The Peterborough constituency in particular looks set for an interesting battle with Conservative Stewart Jackson, who has been the MP since 2005, expected to be in a close fight to retain his seat.

Mr Jackson is up against Labour’s Lisa Forbes, Liberal Democrat Darren Fower, UKIP’s Mary Herdman, Green Party candidate Darren Bisby-Boyd and independent John Fox.

All 650 constituencies in the UK will elect their MP to represent them in the forthcoming parliament.

These include North West Cambridgeshire where Conservative Shailesh Vara will seek re-election.

His opponents who have been announced so far are Labour’s Nick Thulbourn, Liberal Democrat Nick Sandford, UKIP’s Peter Reeve and Nicola Day of the Greens.

Other nearby constituencies include North East Cambridgeshire where Conservative Steve Barclay is up for re-election.

Conservative Jonathan Djanogly will be standing to once again be the MP for Huntingdon.

In the seat of Grantham & Stamford Conservative Nick Boles is standing for re-election.

Conservative John Hayes is defending his seat in the South Holland & The Deepings constituency.

In the Rutland & Melton seat, Conservative Alan Duncan will seek to be re-elected.

And the constituency of Corby, which includes Oundle, is being fought by Labour’s Andy Sawford who won the seat in a by-election in 2012.

Timeline for the election

. March 30 - Dissolution of Parliament

. April 9 - Deadline for delivery of nomination papers

. April 10 - Publication of statement of persons nominated

. April 20 - Deadline to submit new applications to vote

. April 21 - Deadline for application for new postal votes

. April 28 - Deadline for applications to vote by proxy

. May 7 (7am-10pm) - Polling day

. May 8 - National results announced at Peterborough Arena

. May8 - Local results announced at Town Hall

. May 18 - Parliament re-opens

. May 27 - Queen’s Speech

How you voted last time


Stewart Jackson Conservative 18,133 40.4%

Ed Murphy Labour 13,272 29.5%

Nick Sandford Liberal Democrat 8,816 19.6%

Frances Fox UKIP 3,007 6.7%

Rob King English Democrats 770 1.7%

Fiona Radic Green 523 1.2%

John Swallow Independent 406 0.9%

Majority: 4,861 (10.8%); Turnout: 44,927 (63.9%)

North west Cambridgeshire

Shailesh Vara Conservative 29,425 50.5%

Kevin Wilkins Liberal Democrat 12,748 21.9%

Chris York Labour 9,877 16.9%

Robert Brown UKIP 4,826 8.3%

Stephen Goldspink English Democrats 1,407 2.4%

Majority: 16,677 (28.6%); Turnout: 58,283 (65.6%)