Three more councillors for Peterborough after boundary commission publishes recommendations

Peterborough City Council news from the Peterborough Telegraph -, @peterboroughtel on Twitter,
Peterborough City Council news from the Peterborough Telegraph -, @peterboroughtel on Twitter,
Have your say

Peterborough will get three more councillors, each costing nearly £8,000.

Parliament will implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England which will see the changes come in for 2016 when all councillors will be standing for election.

The recommendations would see the number of councillors in Peterborough rising from 57 to 60.

Peterborough will go from having 14 wards with three councillors to 18.

In addition, there will be two two-member wards and two single-member wards.

Councillors currently receive a yearly allowance worth £7,962.

The proposals released today (Tuesday January 20) follow a 12-week public consultation on the boundary commission’s draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Peterborough.

The council had asked that the number of councillors rise from 57 to 61.

In addition, it wanted the number of wards to be 21 instead of the 22 which are being implemented.

This would have meant 20 wards with three councillors representing them and Barnack with just one.

Max Caller, chair of the commission, said: “We are extremely grateful to people across Peterborough who took the time and effort to send us their views.

“The commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the city, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements.

“As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities in Peterborough and surrounding areas.”

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament.

A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months.

The draft order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2016.

The changes

The changes will see the two-member Glinton and Wittering Ward being broken up.

Instead, there will be a two-member Glinton & Castor Ward to include the parishes of Ailsworth, Castor, Marholm, Etton, Glinton, Peakirk, Northborough, Deeping Gate and Maxey.

The recommendations also put forward a single-member Wittering Ward which includes the parishes of Wittering, Thornhaugh, Wansford, Sutton and Upton.

The current Glinton and Wittering councillors are John Holdich, deputy leader and cabinet member for education, skills and university, and Diane Lamb, cabinet advisor for health.

West Ward, which currently has three councillors, will incorporate Longthorpe and South Bretton but will become a two-member ward.

Bretton South, which disappears as a ward, is currently represented only by independent councillor Michael Fletcher.

Bretton North will now become Bretton.

Three-member ward Werrington South will become part of the new Gunthorpe Ward.

Werrington North, meanwhile, will stay with three members and become Werrington.

Walton, which currently has two councillors, will join with three-member ward Paston to become Paston & Walton which will have three councillors overall.

Stanground Central, which is the ward of council leader Councillor Marco Cereste, and Stanground East will both be removed with a new Fletton & Stanground Ward and Stanground South Ward introduced.

Eye & Thorney and Newborough - which combined had three councillors - will come together to become a three-member Eye, Thorney & Newborough Ward.

New three-member wards are also being introduced at Hampton Vale and Hargate & Hempsted.

North Ward and Ravensthorpe Ward will both go from having two councillors to three.

Central, Dogsthorpe, Fletton & Woodston, Orton Longueville, Orton Waterville, Orton with Hampton and Park wards will all remain as three-member wards.

Barnack stays as a one-member ward. Its current councillor is the mayor, Cllr David Over.


Full details of the Commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at:

Are you affected by these changes?

Share your views by commenting on our website below, via Twitter @peterboroughtel, PT’s Facebook page, email - or share your own stories, photos and videos