Former leader Marco Cereste attempts to retain seat in Peterborough City Council elections

Marco Cereste EMN-160605-014050009
Marco Cereste EMN-160605-014050009

Former Peterborough City Council leader Marco Cereste will attempt to retain his seat in next year’s local elections.

Cllr Cereste was elected as a member for Hampton Vale in May 2016, and the Conservatives have confirmed he will be standing in the same ward in May 2018.

Cllr Cereste was previously leader of the council for six years before surprisingly losing his seat in Stanground Central in 2015, only to make a comeback a year later.

A third of the 60 seat council is up for re-election in May next year (and the two following years) and the Conservatives have named all of their candidates for wards in the North West Cambridgeshire constituency.

Two cabinet members are both seeking reelection, with Cllr Gavin Elsey (cabinet member for digital, waste and street scene) attempting to retain his seat in Orton Waterville.

Cllr Irene Walsh, cabinet member for communities, is moving from Hargate and Hempsted to Orton Longueville, where the seat of UKIP’s John Okonkowski will be contested.

The Conservative candidate for the vacated Hargate and Hempsted seat will be Mohammed Farooq who runs the Maharanis restaurant in Hampton and was awarded the British Empire Medal for his charity efforts in this year’s New Year’s Honours.

Cllr Ray Bisby, a former Serviceman who has been nominated to be Deputy Police and Crime Commissioner for Cambridgeshire, will attempt to retain his Stanground South seat, while standing in Fletton and Stanground is Bryan Tyler, the Peterborough Disability Forum manager.

Nigel North, the former cabinet member for communities and environment capital, who lost his seat in Orton Longueville in 2016, is standing in Fletton and Woodston.

The councillors up for reelection are the ones who won their seats in 2016 with the third highest number of votes.

The councillors who received the most votes in their ward in 2016 will not be standing for re-election until 2020.

The results for the 2016 local elections can be found on the Peterborough City Council website at:


VIDEO: Marco Cereste rules out leadership bid after ‘nervous’ election onto Peterborough City Council