Peterborough Panthers

Peterborough Readypower Panthers Speedway Team

The team were formed in 1970, and their home track is located within the East of England Showground.

They competed in the Speedway Elite League (official website), formed in 1997 until 2013. Panthers were Champions in 1999 and 2006.

The club was closed on Sunday, 17 November 2013 due to financial concerns.

But they returned to compete in the Premier League in 2014. Read more: Panthers saved after being taken over by group involving former owner Mick Horton, (19 December)

2014 riders and web links

Ryan Fisher

Ales Dryml

  • Nationality: Czech
  • Age: 34
  • Website:
  • Twitter: N/A
  • Victory music: Wake Me Up (Avicii)

Lasse Bjerre

Ulrich Ostergaard

  • Nationality: Danish
  • Age: 32
  • Website: N/A
  • Twitter: @ulleracing
  • Victory music: We Will Rock You (Five & Queen)

Lewis Blackbird

  • Nationality: British
  • Age: 27
  • Website: N/A
  • Twitter: @lewiblack
  • Victory music: Good Time (Owl City ft Carly Jepson)

Joe Jacobs

Oliver Greenwood

  • Nationality: British
  • Age: 18
  • Website: N/A
  • Twitter: @OllieGreenwood3
  • Victory music: Live While We’re Young (One Direction)

The Peterborough Telegraph is not responsible for the content of external websites.

Panthers who's who (as at start of 2014 season)

Main sponsor: TC Harrison

Team colours: Red, white & black.

Race-night: Tuesday (7.30 pm).

Leaseholder: Mick Horton.

Promoter: Julie Mahoney.

Co-Promoter: Trevor Swales.

Team Managers: Blayne Scroggins/Trevor Swales.

Operations Manager: Neil Watson.

Clerk Of The Course: Stanley Swales/Kevin Gipp.

Pit Marshals: Kevin Kowalski/kevin Parrish.

Starting Marshal: Lee Osborne.

Health & Safety Officer: Kevin Gipp.

Track Curator: Dean Wyers.

Announcer: Edwin Overland.

Incident Recorder: Beryl Hollingworth.

Machine Examiners: David Harris/Kevin Gipp/Carl Johnson.

Programme Editors: Steve & Sarah Miles

Programme Design: James Kasey (Europress).

Honorary Club Chaplain: The Reverend Michael Whawell.

Panthers contact information - official website

The Peterborough Telegraph is not responsible for the content of external websites.

Panthers roll of honour

  • League champions: 1992, 1998 (both second division), 1999, 2006 (both Elite League)
  • KO Cup: 1992 (second division); 1999, 2001 (Elite League).
  • Craven Shield: 1999.
  • Elite Shield: 2007.
  • Elite League riders champions – J. Crump 1999, R. Sullivan 2000
  • League Riders Champion – G. Cunningham 1998
  • British champions – M. Loram 2001
  • British U21 champions – D. Howe 2000
  • Pairs Champions – G. Cunningham & B. Woodifield 1998
  • National League Riders Champion – I. Barney 1984

Follow @pborosport on Twitter for Peterborough Telegraph sport

Panthers stadium: East of England Showground, Alwalton, Peterborough, P2E2 6XE. Telephone 01733 391063 

Club information line: 09066 555992 (calls cost 60p per minute).

Web:, Facebook: peterboroughspeedway, Twitter: @PboroPanthers

Admission Prices (as at 19/3/14)

  • Adults: £15.
  • Concessions (OAPs, 16-17 yrs old, students, disabled): £10.
  • Juniors (12-15): £5.
  • Children (under 12): Free if accompanied by an adult.
  • Match programme: £2.50.

Related links elsewhere:

The Peterborough Telegraph is not responsible for the content of external websites.


Back to the top of the page