Education Awards

Education Awards

Peterborough Telegraph's annual awards honouring local education professionals and pupils.

2013 awards

In an emotional evening at the Key Theatre on Thursday, 11 July, the Headteacher of the Year Award went to Martin Bacon, who lost his battle against a brain tumour earlier this year.

Mr Bacon was executive principal for Cambridgeshire Meridian Academies Trust, which meant that he oversaw Nene Park and Swavesey Village College.

We were delighted to receive more than 100 entries for the awards via post, email and website form.

Read the winners' stories

Elizabeth Bowes, Nicola Pierce, Nene Park Academy’s ERP

Mary Cade, Adam Pettit, Martin Bacon

Tom and Sam Main, Brandon Coulter and Hasan Shabir, Jade Ram

Nan Bowden, Zara Bailey & Sarah Mahmood

Education Awards 2013 photo gallery

Categories, sponsors and winners

A big thank you to all our sponsors including our headline sponsor - Cummins Generator Technologies.

2012 awards

Teachers, pupils staff and schools were recognised at the Peterborough Telegraph Education Awards 2012 on July 18. See video of the winners and awards ceremony

An emotional night at the Key Theatre saw the 12 category winners from the Peterborough Telegraph rewarded for showing bravery, skill, persistence or great leadership.

Photo gallery: Peterborough Telegraph Education Awards 2012

Headline sponsors were Cummins Generator Technologies.

Award categories and sponsors

2011 awards

Teachers, pupils, dinner ladies and caretakers were honoured at the Peterborough Telegraph Education Awards.

The annual ceremony gives readers the chance to pay tribute to the dedicated staff involved in all aspects of education across the city and surrounding area, as well as pupils who have excelled themselves or exceeded expectations.

Editor Mark Edwards said: "All too often, the hard work of those at schools and the achievements of pupils themselves are overlooked, and this is an opportunity to recognise those who deserve our praise.

"It is fantastic to be able to celebrate the work and accomplishments of all members of a school community."



Best Pupil, Aged Four to Ten - sponsored by Foster Care Associates

Winner: Myles Todd, a pupil at Alderman Jacobs Primary School in Peterborough.

Best Pupil, Aged 11-16 – sponsored by Anglia Regional Co-op

Winner: Paavan Gandhi from Thomas Deacon Academy.

Support Staff Award – sponsored by Pathway Care

Winner: Andy Short, Eye Primary School.

Support for Pupils with Special Needs - sponsored by The Key Theatre and Vivacity

Winner: Darran Farrer, Sir Harry Smith Community College.

Environmental Award - sponsored by Kier Eastern

Winner: Helen Bacon and Martin Fry, John Clare Primary School.

Outstanding Sporting Achievement - sponsored by Stanair

Winner: Thomas Deacon Academy Under 16s Indoor Hockey Team.

Best School/Pupil Contribution to the Community - sponsored by Anglia Regional Co-op

Winner: Siana Rawlings, Sir Harry Smith Community College.

Arts Award - sponsored by Peterborough City Council

Winner: West End Wildcats, Caz Dolby.

Design and Technology Award

Winner: Ashley Binns, Thomas Deacon Academy.

Outstanding Teacher Award - sponsored by Textbook Teachers

Winner: Matt Ward was a teacher at Thomas Deacon Academy who died after competing in the Great Eastern Run in October 2010.

Most Improved Student Award - sponsored by Stamford College

Winner: Sunil Manku is a Year 11 student at the Thomas Deacon Academy.

Headteacher of the Year - sponsored by Luminus Group

Winner: Peter Hains, Hampton College.


To find out about sponsorship opportunities email


Back to the top of the page